The EGNOS infrastructure is comprised of:

  • a ground network of 40 ranging and integrity monitoring stations (RIMS)
  • 6 navigation land earth stations (NLES)
  • 2 mission control centres
  •  signal transponders on 3 geostationary satellites (Inmarsat III satellite, and SES ASTRA GEO satellites SES-5 and ASTRA-5B).

Read more


EGNOS is owned by European citizens. The European Commission took over ownership of the EGNOS infrastructure from the European Space Agency (ESA) on behalf of the European Union on 1 April 2009. Since 1 January 2014, the exploitation of EGNOS has been fully delegated to the EU Agency for the Space Programme (EUSPA) by the European Commission.

Read more


More information on the development of EGNOS, along with future plans to extend Europe’s satellite-based augmentation service (SBAS), can be found here.

Updated: Jan 12, 2023